You might rename a role when you change the role's purpose. When you rename a role, no changes occur to that role’s assignments.

If you create or modify a role on a vCenter Server system that is part of a connected group in Linked Mode, the changes you make are propagated to other vCenter Server systems in the group. Roles that are assigned to specific users and objects are not shared across linked vCenter Server systems.

Verify that you are logged in as a user with Administrator privileges.

1

Browse to Administration > Role Manager in the vSphere Web Client.

2

Select a vCenter Server system from the drop-down menu.

3

Select the role and click Edit role action.

4

Type a new name for the role.

5

Click OK.