Use the restore option to reset the configuration of an existing distributed switch to the settings in the configuration file. Restoring a distributed switch changes the settings on the selected switch back to the settings saved in the configuration file.

This functionality is available only with the vSphere Web Client 5.1 or later. However, you can restore settings from any distributed switch version if you use the vSphere Web Client 5.1 or later.

1

Browse to a distributed switch in the vSphere Web Client navigator.

2

Right-click the distributed switch in the navigator and select All vCenter Actions > Restore Configuration.

3

Browse for the configuration backup file to use.

4

Select Restore distributed switch and all port groups or Restore distributed switch only and click Next

5

Review the summary information for the restore.

Restoring a distributed switch will overwrite the current settings of the distributed switch and its port groups. It will not delete existing port groups that are not part of the configuration file.

6

Click Finish.

The distributed switch configuration has been restored to the settings in the configuration file.