When you edit a role, you can change the privileges selected for that role. When completed, these privileges are applied to any user or group assigned the edited role.

If you create or edit a role on a vCenter Server system that is part of a connected group in Linked Mode, the changes you make are propagated to all other vCenter Server systems in the group. However, assignments of roles to specific users and objects are not shared across linked vCenter Server systems.

Verify that you are logged in as a user with Administrator privileges.

1

On the vSphere Client Home page, click Roles.

2

Right-click the role to edit and select Edit Role.

3

Select privileges for the role and click OK.