Reverting snapshots immediately activates the parent snapshot of the current state of the virtual machine.

The current disk and memory states are discarded and restored as they were when you took that snapshot. If your parent snapshot was taken when the virtual machine was powered off, choosing Snapshot > Revert to Snapshot moves the powered-on virtual machine to that parent state, that is, to a powered-off state.

If the snapshot was taken while the virtual machine was powered on and the virtual machine settings are set to revert to snapshot when powering off, the virtual machine moves to a suspended state when it reverts to the parent snapshot. If the no memory option is set, the virtual machine moves to a suspended state, even if the revert operation is performed, but not through the powered-off action. If the memory option is set, the power-off revert action puts VM is suspended state. This process is illustrated in Revert to Snapshot.

Note

Virtual machines running certain kinds of workloads might take several minutes to resume responsiveness after reverting from a snapshot. This delay may be improved by increasing the guest memory.

Revert to Snapshot
This graphic shows the process of how to revert to a snapshopt

Revert to Snapshot is a shortcut to the parent snapshot of You are here

Note

vApp metadata for virtual machines within vApps does not follow the snapshot semantics for virtual machine configuration. vApp properties that are deleted, modified, or defined after a snapshot is taken remain intact (deleted, modified, or defined) after the virtual machine reverts to that snapshot or any prior snapshots.