You must change Read-only nonpropagating network permissions to propagating network permissions in order for users to access the networks. You can assign network permissions on networks or folders containing networks.

Before performing the update procedure, determine the network organization for virtual machines, hosts, and users. If necessary, define new networking roles or modify the Network Consumer sample role. This sample role assigns the Assign Network privilege. In addition, group your networks in folders that coincide with your organizational needs.

Note

The Read-only propagating permission on a datacenter, in addition to all permissions you have set, will be kept intact after the network permissions upgrade.

1

Log in to vSphere Client as an administrator.

2

On the Home page, click Networking to display the networks in the inventory.

3

Select the network or network folder and click the Permissions tab.

4

Right-click in the Permissions tab and from the context menu, choose Add Permission.

5

In the Assigned Role pane, do one of the following:

To assign specific network privileges defined in a role by your company, choose the custom role.

Note

The Read-only propagating permission on a datacenter, in addition to all permissions you have set, will be kept intact after the upgrade.

To migrate read-only nonpropagating datacenter permissions to propagating network permissions, choose Network Consumer (sample). This role assigns the Assign Network privilege to users, which is required so that users can associate a virtual machine's vNIC or host's NIC with the network on which this role is granted. This requires the appropriate permissions for the assignment are also granted on the virtual machines or hosts.

6

Select Propagate to Child Objects.

7

In the Users and Groups pane, click Add.

8

Select the users and groups for whom to add the role.

To select multiple names, control-click each additional name.

9

Click OK.

All users are added to the Users and Groups list for this role.

10

Click OK.

New networks that you create are added under the datacenter by default.

Note

You need to set up permissions for new networks that you create. By default, new networks are created under the datacenter folder in the inventory. You can move it into a network folder, as appropriate.