When you remove a role that is not assigned to any users or groups, the definition is removed from the list of roles. When you remove a role that is assigned to a user or group, you can remove assignments or replace them with an assignment to another role.

Caution

You must understand how users will be affected before removing all assignments or replacing them. Users who have no permissions granted to them cannot log in to vCenter Server.

Verify that you are logged in as a user with Administrator privileges.

If you remove a role from a vCenter Server system that is part of a connected group in Linked Mode, check the use of that role on the other vCenter Server systems in the group. Removing a role from one vCenter Server system removes the role from all other vCenter Server systems in the group, even if you reassign permissions to another role on the current vCenter Server system.

1

On the vSphere Client Home page, click Roles.

2

Click the object you want to remove in the list of roles.

3

Select Administration > Role > Remove.

4

Click OK.

The role is removed from the list.

If the role is assigned to a user or group, a warning message appears.

5

Select a reassignment option and click OK.

Option

Description

Remove Role Assignments

Removes configured user or group and role pairings on the server. If a user or group does not have other permissions assigned, they lose all privileges.

Reassign affected users to

Reassigns any configured user or group and role pairings to the selected new role.