You can disconnect and reconnect a host that is being managed by vCenter Server. Disconnecting a managed host does not remove it from vCenter Server; it temporarily suspends all monitoring activities performed by vCenter Server.

The managed host and its associated virtual machines remain in the vCenter Server inventory. By contrast, removing a managed host from vCenter Server removes the managed host and all its associated virtual machines from the vCenter Server inventory.