Renaming a role does not change that role’s assignments.

If you create or modify a role on a vCenter Server system that is part of a connected group in Linked Mode, the changes you make are propagated to all other vCenter Server systems in the group. However, assignments of roles to specific users and objects are not shared across linked vCenter Server systems.

You must be logged in as a user with Administrator privileges.

1

On the vSphere Client Home page, click Roles.

2

To select the role to rename, click the object in the list of roles.

3

Select Administration > Role > Rename.

4

Type the new name.