When you remove a role, if it is not assigned to any users or groups, the definition is removed from the list of possible roles. When you remove a role that is assigned to a user or group you can remove all assignments or replace them with an assignment to another role.

Caution

Be sure that you understand how users will be affected before removing all assignments or replacing them. Users that have no permissions granted to them cannot log in to vCenter Server.

You must be logged in as a user with Administrator privileges.

If you are removing a role from a vCenter Server system that is part of a connected group in Linked Mode, check the usage of that role on the other vCenter Server systems in the group before proceeding. Removing a role from one vCenter Server system also removes the role from all other vCenter Server systems in the group, even if you choose to reassign permissions to another role on the current vCenter Server system.

1

On the vSphere Client Home page, click Roles.

2

To select the role to remove, click the object in the list of roles.

3

Select Administration > Role > Remove.

4

Click OK.

The role is removed from the list and is no longer available for assigning to users or groups.

If the role is assigned to a user or group, a warning message appears.

5

Select a reassignment option and click OK.

Option

Description

Remove Role Assignments

Removes any configured user or group and role pairings on the server. If a user or group does not have any other permissions assigned, they lose all privileges.

Reassign affected users to

Reassigns any configured user or group and role pairings to the selected new role.