You can make a copy of an existing role, rename it, and later edit it. When you make a copy, the new role is not applied to the same users or groups and objects.

If you create or modify a role on a vCenter Server system that is part of a connected group in Linked Mode, the changes you make are propagated to all other vCenter Server systems in the group. However, assignments of roles to specific users and objects are not shared across linked vCenter Server systems.

You must be logged in as a user with Administrator privileges.

1

On the vSphere Client Home page, click Roles.

2

To select the role to duplicate, click the object in the list of Roles.

3

To clone the selected role, select Administration > Role > Clone.

A duplicate of the role is added to the list of roles. The name is Copy of <rolename>.