You can manage the user groups associated with the users and objects in your environment. You can import to vRealize Operations Manager some or all of your LDAP user groups from an LDAP database that resides on another machine.

To manage user groups, select Administration, click Access Control, and click the User Groups tab. The user group information appears on the page.

To view and edit details for the roles, user accounts, and objects associated with the user group, select a user group in the summary grid and click the icons in the panes of the Details grid.

Access Control User Groups Summary Grid

Option

Description

User Groups toolbar

To manage user groups, use the toolbar icons.

Plus sign. Add a user group, and provide the details for the user group in the Add User Group workspace.

Pencil. Edit the selected user group, and modify the details for the user group in the Edit User Group workspace.

People. Clone a selected user group, and type a name and meaningful description for the cloned user group.

Red X. Delete a user group.

Gear. Import a user group, and provide the details to import the user group in the Import User Groups workspace.

Group Name

Name of the user group, either created manually or imported from an LDAP database.

Description

Meaningful description of the group, indicating its purpose.

Members

Number of members in the group.

Group Type

Type of group, either a local user group or a group imported from LDAP.

Last Synchronized

For user groups imported from an LDAP database, this setting indicates the last time that the imported user groups were synchronized with vRealize Operations Manager user groups. This synchronization occurs every 30 minutes.

When you view and edit details for the roles, user accounts, and objects associated with the user group, after you select a user group in the summary grid, click the icons in the panes of the Details grid.

Access Control User Groups Details Grid

Option

Description

Roles

View and edit the roles associated with the user group.

Role Name. Indicates the roles assigned to the selected user group. To add or remove other roles, view only the selected or deselected roles, or search for a specific role, click the pencil icon.

Description. Displays the description for the selected user group, defined when you created the group.

User Accounts

View, add, or delete the user accounts in the selected group.

User Name. Name of each user who is a member of the selected group. To add members, view only the selected or deselected members in the group, or search for a member, click the plus sign. To remove members, click the red X.

First Name. First name of each user in the group.

Last Name. Last name of each user in the group.

Associated Objects

View and edit the objects associated with the selected user group.

Object Path. Navigation path to the objects associated with the selected user group. For example, vSphere Hosts and Clusters, or Custom Groups. To modify the selected group access to associated objects, click the pencil icon. From the Object View, click the down arrow to select a category of objects, and click the check boxes to select the objects from the list. Updates to the list of object paths and the number of objects appear in the Associated Objects pane.

Number of Objects. Indicates the number of objects associated with the selected user group.