Using the Data Protection Service, you can set data protection policies for your virtual data centers and vApps to meet your protection needs. You can apply data protection policies in the following ways:

To a virtual data center (Enabled mode)—when you enable data protection for a virtual data center, all the virtual machines added to that virtual data center are protected automatically.

To a vApp directly (Self Service mode)—when you switch to Self Service mode, the Data Protection Service does not back up all virtual machines in that data center automatically. You have the option to choose which virtual machines to back up and to apply individual policies to those virtual machines.

As shown in the following figure, a customer has two virtual data centers in the cloud service. Each virtual data center has a different data protection policy applied:

Applying Data Protection Policies at the VDC and vAPP Level
Data Protection Service in vCloud Air

To enable data protection for a virtual data center, you must be logged into vCloud Air as a virtual infrastructure administrator. If you are logged in as an end user, you can set backup policies only for the vApps you own.

Logging as a virtual administrator displays the following features of the Data Protection Service.

Data Protection Service in vCloud Air (formerly known as vCloud Hybrid Service)
Data Protection in vCloud Air

A virtual infrastructure administrator can configure data protection policies for virtual data centers, vApps, and restore deleted vApps.

Note

Logging in as an end user displays the vAPPs protected tab only.

When you enable data protection for a virtual data center, data protection is set by default to back up vApp data every day between 6:00 and 10:00 UTC and retain the backups for 30 days. You can change the default settings by editing the virtual data center policy. For example, you might want to edit the data protection policy and change the backup window to avoid traffic latencies. When you enable data protection for a virtual data center, you can customize the retention period for backups.

When a vApp gets backed up (either automatically by the system or when you back it up manually), the Data Protection Service retains that backup as a restore point for 30 days by default. When the retention period expires, the Data Protection Service automatically deletes and overwrites the oldest restore point.

To delete an entire backup, see Delete a Backup Image in this guide.

At the vApp level, you can disable backup and restore, set a customize retention period, or reset the data protection policy so that all vApps inherit the policy from the virtual data center.

When you change the disk configuration for a virtual machine, the Data Protection Service completes a full backup of the virtual machine the next time the vApp is backed up.

If you add a virtual machine to a vApp and do not backup the updated vApp, and then restore the vApp in place by using a out-of-date version of the backup, the Data Protection Service deletes the added virtual machine.

A vApp is in Maintenance mode during backup and restore operations.