Upgrading Running Applications on a Network Share
ThinApp allows you to upgrade or roll back an application that is running on a network share for multiple users. The upgrade process occurs when the user quits the application and starts it a second time. In Terminal Server environments, you can have multiple users executing different versions at the same time during the transition period.
File Locks
Starting an application locks the executable file package. You cannot replace, delete, or move the application. This file lock ensures that any computer or user who accesses a specific version of an application continues to have that version available as long as the application processes and subprocesses are running.
If you store an application in a central location for many users, this file lock prevents administrators from replacing a packaged executable file with a new version until all users exit the application and release their locks.
Upgrade a Running Application
You can copy a new version of an application into an existing deployment directory with a higher filename extension, such as .1 or .2. This procedure uses Firefox as a sample application.
You do not have to update shortcuts.
Upgrade a running application
1
2
Copy the application to a central share at \\<server>\<share>\Firefox.exe.
A sample location is C:\Program Files\Firefox\Firefox.exe.
3
Create a desktop or Start menu shortcut to the user’s desktop that points to a shared executable file location at \\<server>\<share>\Firefox.exe.
Assume two users start Firefox.exe and lock the application.
4
Copy the updated version of Firefox.exe to the central share at \\<server>\<share>\Firefox.1.
If you are a new user, ThinApp starts the application with the new package data in Firefox.1. If you are a user working with the original version, you can see the new version after you exit the application and restart the application.
5
6
Copy Version 2.0 of Firefox.exe to central share at \\<server>\<share>\Firefox.2
After Firefox.1 is unlocked, you can delete it, but Firefox.exe should remain in place because the user shortcuts continue to point there. ThinApp always uses the filename that has the highest version number. If you must roll back to an earlier version and the most recent version is still locked, copy the old version so that it has the highest version number.