This topic provides instructions for removing a resource from the vCenter Hyperic inventory.

To remove a resource:

1

Select Browse > Resourcesto navigate to the resource you wish to delete.

2

Select the Delete ResourceType option from the Tools menu.

Monitoring ceases and the resource is removed from inventory. If the resource has child resources, those children (and their children, as applicable) will be removed as well.

Resources you delete will disappear from the resource list immediately. Removal of the resources from the database occurs asynchronously; there may be a slight delay before resources are removed from the database. If you restart the agent prior to the resource being removed from the database, errors might occur if you re-add the resource to memory after the agent rediscovers it.

Do not try to re-import a platform immediately after deleting it — this may fail. Also, until the delete process running in background completes, a deleted platform will still appear in the vCenter Hyperic Health's agent tab. Similarly, the vCenter Hyperic license count displayed in the web user interface will not be decremented until the delete process is completed.