This topic provides information about what happens when you upload a plugin with Plugin Manager.

When you upload a new or updated plugin with the Plugin Manager:

The plugin is copied to the vCenter Hyperic server's user.dir/hq-plugins directory.

If a product plugin of the same name exists in the server's hq-plugins directory (likely to be the case if you are deploying a customized version of a built-in plugin), the version in user.dir/hq-plugins henceforth is loaded, rather than the version in the server's hq-plugins directory (ServerHome/hq-engine/hq-server/webapps/ROOT/WEB_INF/hq-plugins/).

The vCenter Hyperic server updates and restarts each up-to-date agent. Note that agent update and agent restart are asynchronous - the server processes two queues: one of agents that still need the update pushed, and one of those that have the update and need to be restarted.

The server pushes the new or changed plugins to all up-to-date agents, up to four at a time. A built-in throttle mechanism limits the number of agent update threads.

The server issues a restart command to each updated agent, up to 20 in parallel. A built-in throttle mechanism limits the number of agent restart threads.