The Horizon Mirage client synchronizes the endpoint with the Horizon Mirage server at defined intervals. A user might want to override the defined interval and synchronize immediately, or temporarily suspend the client's synchronization activities.

The client uses the endpoint processing power to synchronize the endpoint with the server and keep it up to date. This synchronization occurs at intervals that the upload policy upload change interval parameter defines. See Working with Upload Policies.

The client uses a network client throttle mechanism to regulate the data transfer. When the client senses user activity, it reduces or suspends its synchronization process until the endpoint is idle.

A user can use the Sync Now feature to start synchronization outside the defined intervals. For example, when important changes are made to documents and the user wants to verify that they are backed up to the CVD.

A user who is operating over a limited or metered network link can use the Snooze feature to temporarily suspend the client's background synchronization activities. Using Snooze to override the client’s synchronization with the server affects the timing of scheduled CVD snapshots. For more information about automatic snapshot creation, see CVD Snapshot Generation and Retention.

Synchronize the endpoint or temporarily suspend the synchronization.

Option

Action

Sync Now

Right-click the Horizon Mirage icon in the notification area and select Sync Now.

Snooze

To activate Snooze, right-click the Horizon Mirage icon in the notification area and select Snooze. The user can snooze the client for 15 minutes, 2 hours, or 4 hours. After this time elapses, regularly scheduled synchronizations that the network client throttle mechanism regulates resume.

To exit the Snooze state, right-click the Horizon Mirage icon in the notification area and select Sync Now. This reactivates the automatic synchronization mechanism.