You might need to reset a desktop or application if the application or desktop operating system stops responding. Resetting a remote desktop shuts down and restarts the desktop. Resetting your remote applications quits the applications. Unsaved data is lost.

Resetting a remote desktop is the equivalent of pressing the Reset button on a physical PC to force the PC to restart. Any files that are open on the remote desktop will be closed without being saved first.

Resetting applications is the equivalent of quitting all remote applications without saving any unsaved data. All open applications are closed, even if the applications come from different RDS server farms.

You can reset a remote desktop only if your administrator has enabled this feature.

Use the Reset command.

Option

Action

Reset applications from the application selector screen

From the desktop and application selector screen, before connecting to a remote desktop or application, to reset all running applications, click the Settings toolbar button in the upper-right corner of the screen, anc click Reset.

Reset a desktop from the sidebar

When connected to a remote desktop, click the Open Menu toolbar button next to the desktop name in the Running list in the sidebar and select Reset.

Reset applications from the sidebar

To reset all running applications, click the Open Settings Window toolbar button at the top of the sidebar, and click Reset.

Reset a desktop using an URI

To reset a desktop, use the URI https://ConnectionServerFQDN?desktopId=desktop_name&action=reset.

For a remote desktop, the operating system in the remote desktop is rebooted. The client disconnects from the desktop. For remote applications, the applications are quit.

Wait an appropriate amount of time for system startup before attempting to connect to the remote desktop.