Resetting a remote desktop shuts down and restarts the desktop. Resetting a remote application quits the application. You might need to reset a desktop or application if the desktop operating system or application stops responding.

Resetting a remote desktop is the equivalent of pressing the Reset button on a physical PC to force the PC to restart. Any files that are open on the remote desktop will be closed without being saved first.

Resetting a remote application quits all remote applications and logs off all of your remote application sessions. Unsaved changes in remote applications might be lost.

Note

A View administrator can disable the reset feature for certain types of desktops. For more information, see the View Administration document.

Obtain the credentials that you need to log in, such as Active Directory user name and password, RSA SecurID user name and passcode, or RADIUS authentication user name and passcode.

1

In Horizon Client, connect to a View server by tapping a server icon on the Servers home screen.

2

If prompted, supply your RSA user name and passcode, your Active Directory user name and password, or both.

3

On the desktop and application selector screen, tap and hold (or right-click) the desktop or application icon.

The item is selected and the app commands appear at the bottom of the screen.

4

Tap Reset.

The Reset command is available only if the View administrator has allowed it and only if the status of the desktop or application is such that the action can be taken.

To display the app commands, swipe up from the bottom of the screen or use the Win+Z key combination. If you have Windows 8.1 Update, you can also swipe down from the top of the screen or right-click the VMware Horizon title bar if you use an external mouse device.