The VXLAN network is used for Layer 2 Logical Switching across hosts. You configure VXLAN on a per-cluster basis, where you map each cluster that is to participate in a logical network to a vDS. When you map a cluster to a switch, each host in that cluster is enabled for logical switches. The settings chosen here will be used in creating the VMkernel interface.

All hosts in the cluster must be connected to a vDS.

Network virtualization components must be installed.


Ensure that you are on the Installation > Host Preparation tab.


For the cluster on which you want to configure VXLAN, click Configure in the VXLAN column.


In the Configuring VXLAN networking dialog box, select the switch to which you want to map the cluster.


Type the VLAN transport.


Type the Maximum Transmission Units (MTU) for the virtual distributed switch.

MTU is the maximum amount of data that can be transmitted in one packet before it is divided into smaller packets. VXLAN traffic frames are slightly larger in size because of encapsulation, so the MTU for each switch must be set to 1550 or higher.


In VMKNic IP Addressing, specify the IP pool to be used for the Management and Edge cluster.




Assign an IP address to the VXLAN VTEPs through Dynamic Host Configuration Protocol (DHCP).

Use IP pool

Assign a static IP address to the VXLAN VTEPs from the selected IP pool, or create a new IP pool.


If you selected Use IP Pool, select an IP pool.


Select the VMKNic Teaming Policy for the vSwitch. The NIC teaming policy determines the load balancing and failover settings of the virtual switch.


It is important to choose the right teaming policy to avoid packet loss. See Teaming Policy for Virtual Distributed Switches.


Edit the VTEP value, if required.

VTEP (VXLAN Tunnel End Points) is the number of dvUplinks on the switch, which load balances traffic between multiple PNICs. VMware recommends that you do not edit the default VTEP value. This field is disabled if the teaming policy you selected does not require multiple VTEPs (ether channel, failover, LACPv1, or LACPv2).


Click OK.