A role is a predefined set of privileges. Privileges define individual rights that a user requires to perform actions and read properties. Workstation includes a default set of system roles. You can also create your own roles.

A single user might have different roles for different objects. For example, if you have two shared virtual machines, virtual machine A and virtual machine B, you might assign a particular user the Administrator role on virtual machine A and the Read Only permission on virtual machine B.

Workstation provides a set of default system roles. You can use the default system roles to assign permissions, or you can use them as a model to create your own roles.

If the default system roles do not meet your needs, you can combine selected privileges to create your own roles.

You can change the name of a role. You can add or remove the privileges in a role. You cannot edit the default system roles.

You can make a copy of an existing role by cloning it. When you clone a role, the new role is not applied to users, groups, or objects. You must assign the role to users or groups and objects.

When you remove a role, Workstation removes the definition from the list of roles.