When you remove a role, Workstation removes the definition from the list of roles.

Important

Make sure that you understand how users will be affected before you remove or replace role assignments.

If you are removing a role on a remote host, connect to the remote server. See Connect to a Remote Server.

1

Open the Edit Roles dialog box.

Option

Description

Remove a role on the local host

(Windows host) Right-click Shared VMs and select Roles.

(Linux host) Right-click Shared VMs and select Edit Roles.

Remove a role on a remote host

(Windows host) Right-click the remote host and select Roles.

(Linux host) Right-click the remote host and select Edit Roles.

2

Select the role to remove and click Remove.

On a Windows host, Workstation removes configured user or group and role pairings on the host. Users or groups that do not have other permissions assigned lose all privileges.

3

If the role is assigned to a user or group, select a reassignment option and click OK.

Option

Description

Remove the role from all affected users and groups

(Windows host) Select Remove role assignments.

(Linux host) Select Remove affected permissions.

Users or groups that do not have other permissions assigned lose all privileges.

Remove the role and assign another role to all affected users and groups

(Windows host) Select Reassign affected users to and select a role.

(Linux host) Select Reassign affected permissions to and select a role.