You can restore a virtual machine to a previous state by reverting to a snapshot.

If you take a snapshot of a virtual machine and add any kind of disk, reverting to the snapshot removes the disk from the virtual machine. If associated disk (.vmdk) files are not used by another snapshot, the disk files are deleted.

Important

If you add an independent disk to a virtual machine and take a snapshot, reverting to the snapshot does not affect the state of the independent disk.

To revert to the parent snapshot, select the virtual machine and select VM > Snapshot > Revert to Snapshot.

To revert to any snapshot, select the virtual machine, select VM > Snapshot, select the snapshot, and click Go To.