If a shared folder is not created by the user who powers on the virtual machine, it is disabled by default. This is a security precaution.

Folder sharing is also disabled by default for Workstation 4 and 5.x virtual machines, regardless of who creates the folder.

Important

Enabling shared folders on all virtual machines can pose a security risk because a shared folder might enable existing programs inside the virtual machine to access the host file system without your knowledge.

1

Select Edit > Preferences.

2

Select Workspace and select Enable all shared folders by default.

This setting applies to shared folders on all virtual machines that are created by other users.