Taking a snapshot of a virtual machine saves its current state and enables you to return to the same state repeatedly. When you take a snapshot, Workstation captures the entire state of the virtual machine. You can use the snapshot manager to review and act on the snapshots for an active virtual machine.

A snapshot includes the contents of the virtual machine memory, virtual machine settings, and the state of all the virtual disks. When you revert to a snapshot, you return the memory, settings, and virtual disks of the virtual machine to the state they were in when you took the snapshot.

You can review all snapshots for a virtual machine and act on them directly in the snapshot manager.

When you take a snapshot, you preserve the state of a virtual machine at a specific moment in time and the virtual machine continues to run. Taking a snapshot enables you to return to the same state repeatedly. You can take a snapshot while a virtual machine is powered on, powered off, or suspended.

You can restore a virtual machine to a previous state by reverting to a snapshot.

You can configure a virtual machine to revert to a snapshot or take a new snapshot when you power off the virtual machine. This feature is useful if you need to discard changes when a virtual machine is powered off.

The AutoProtect feature preserves the state of a virtual machine by taking snapshots at regular intervals that you specify. This process is in addition to manual snapshots, which you can take at any time.

When you delete a snapshot, you delete the state of the virtual machine that you preserved and you can never return to that state again. Deleting a snapshot does not affect the current state of the virtual machine.