You can configure a virtual machine to revert to a snapshot or take a new snapshot when you power off the virtual machine. This feature is useful if you need to discard changes when a virtual machine is powered off.

1

Select the virtual machine and select VM > Settings.

2

On the Options tab, select Snapshots.

3

Select a power off option.

Option

Description

Just power off

Powers off the virtual machine without making any changes to snapshots.

Revert to snapshot

Reverts to the parent snapshot of the current state of the virtual machine.

Take a new snapshot

Takes a snapshot of the virtual machine state after it is powered off. The snapshot appears in the Snapshot Manager. The name of the snapshot is the date and time that the virtual machine was powered off and the description is Automatic snapshot created when powering off.

Note

You cannot configure this option for a shared or remote virtual machine.

Ask me

Prompts you to power off, revert, or take a snapshot when the virtual machine is powered off.

4

Click OK to save your changes.