If you no longer need to replicate a virtual machine from the cloud, you can stop the replication permanently.

When you stop a replication, data is removed from both the source and the target site. Therefore, stopping a replication requires that both the cloud and the local site are online and connected.

If the cloud site is offline, you can force stop the replication task from the local site. When you force stop a replication, you remove the replication task only from the source site. The data on the cloud site remains intact. When the cloud site becomes available, you must delete the replication artifacts from the cloud site manually or contact your cloud provider.

Note

For stopped replications that use replication seeds, the seed VMs are not deleted from the local site.

Verify that you have enough privileges to manage replications in the vSphere Web Client. See Roles and Permissions that Disaster Recovery to Cloud Requires.

1

Use the vSphere Web Client to connect to your local site.

2

Navigate to the vSphere Replication tab under Monitor, and click Incoming Replications.

3

Right-click a replication and select Stop.

You can stop multiple replication tasks simultaneously only if they are replicated from the same virtual data center.

4

(Optional) To delete the replication only from the local site, select Force stop replication in the Stop Replication dialog box.

Note

The replication remains active on the cloud site. Contact your provider to clear the replication from the cloud site.

5

Click Yes to confirm.

6

If your user session to the cloud provider has expired, enter your credentials and click OK to reconnect.

If both sites are online, Disaster Recovery to Cloud applies the following changes.

On the cloud site, removes the replication entry, and removes the replication related configurations from the source virtual machine.

On the local site, removes the task from the list of incoming replications, and deletes the replication data from the storage.

If only the local site is online and you selected to perform a force stop operation, the replication task is deleted from the list of incoming replications, and replication data is deleted from the storage.