To update or download the content of a library item you can synchronize it.

When creating the subscribed library, if you selected the option to download library content only when needed, only metadata for the library contents is downloaded to the associated storage. When you need to use the item, you synchronize it to download its content to your local storage. When you no longer need the item, to free space on your storage you can delete the content of the item. You continue to see the item in your subscribed library, but it no longer takes up space on your storage because only the items metadata remains on the storage.

Required privilege: Content library. Sync library item on the library item.

1

In the vSphere Web Client navigator, select vCenter Inventory Lists > Content Libraries.

2

Select a subscribed library from the list, and click the Related Objects tab.

3

Synchronize the item you need to use.

On the Templates tab, right-click a VM or a vApp template, and select Synchronize Item.

On the Other Types tab, right-click an item, and select Synchronize Item.

After synchronization completes, the item content and metadata are downloaded to the backing storage of the subscribed library, and in the Related Objects tab the value for the item in the Stored Content Locally column changes to Yes.