If a template has become outdated and you no longer use it in your environment, you can remove it from the inventory. Removing a template unregisters it from the vCenter Server inventory, but it is not removed from the datastore. The template remains at the same storage location, and you can use the datastore browser to re-registered the template at a later time. You can later decide to update the template rather than create one.

1

Click the template and select Remove from Inventory.

2

Click Yes to confirm removing the template from the vCenter Server database.

The template is unregistered from the vCenter Server inventory.