When you remove a virtual machine from the inventory, you unregister it from the host and vCenter Server, but you do not delete it from the datastore. Virtual machine files remain at the same storage location and you can re-registered the virtual machine by using the datastore browser at a later time. This capability is useful if you need to unregister a virtual machine to edit the virtual machine's configuration file. The ability to remove a virtual machine and maintain its files is useful when you have reached the maximum number of virtual machines that your license or hardware allows.

Verify that the virtual machine is turned off.

1

Right-click the virtual machine, and select Remove From Inventory.

2

To confirm that you want to remove the virtual machine from the inventory, click OK.

vCenter Server removes references to the virtual machine and no longer tracks its condition.