After creating datastores, you can perform several administrative operations on the datastores. Certain operations, such as renaming a datastore, are available for all types of datastores. Others apply to specific types of datastores.

You can change the name of an existing datastore.

When you unmount a datastore, it remains intact, but can no longer be seen from the hosts that you specify. The datastore continues to appear on other hosts, where it remains mounted.

You can mount a datastore you previously unmounted. You can also mount a datastore on additional hosts, so that it becomes a shared datastore.

You can delete any type of VMFS datastore, including copies that you have mounted without resignaturing. When you delete a datastore, it is destroyed and disappears from all hosts that have access to the datastore.

Use the datastore file browser to manage contents of your datastores. You can browse folders and files that are stored on the datastore. You can also use the browser to upload files and perform administrative tasks on your folders and files.

When you perform VMFS datastore management operations, vCenter Server uses default storage protection filters. The filters help you to avoid storage corruption by retrieving only the storage devices that can be used for a particular operation. Unsuitable devices are not displayed for selection. You can turn off the filters to view all devices.