Turning off vSphere Fault Tolerance deletes the secondary virtual machine, its configuration, and all history.

Use this option if you do not plan to reenable the feature. Otherwise, use the Disable Fault Tolerance option.

Launch the vSphere Client and log in to a vCenter Server system.

If the Secondary VM resides on a host that is in maintenance mode, disconnected, or not responding, you cannot use the Turn Off Fault Tolerance option. In this case, you should disable and enable Fault Tolerance instead.

1

In the vSphere Client, select the Hosts & Clusters view.

2

Right-click the fault tolerant virtual machine and select Fault Tolerance > Turn Off Fault Tolerance.

Fault Tolerance is turned off for the selected virtual machine. Any history and the secondary virtual machine for the selected virtual machine are deleted.