When you unmount a datastore, it remains intact, but can no longer be seen from the hosts that you specify. It continues to appear on other hosts, where it remains mounted.

You can unmount only the following types of datastores:

NFS datastores

VMFS datastore copies mounted without resignaturing

You cannot unmount an active mounted datastore.

1

Display the datastores.

2

Right-click the datastore to unmount and select Unmount.

3

If the datastore is shared, specify which hosts should no longer access the datastore.

a

If needed, deselect the hosts where you want to keep the datastore mounted.

By default, all hosts are selected.

b

Click Next.

c

Review the list of hosts from which to unmount the datastore, and click Finish.

4

Confirm that you want to unmount the datastore.