After you create a snapshot, the virtual machine writes new data to redo log files. These files can become large as saved data continues to accumulate, until you take an action that affects the snapshot.

Different snapshot actions affect the redo log files differently.

When you remove the snapshot, the changes accumulated in the redo log files are written permanently to the base virtual disk files.

When you revert to the snapshot, the contents of the redo log files are discarded. Any subsequent changes are accumulated in new redo logs.

If you take a snapshot when the virtual machine already has a snapshot, the changes accumulated in the redo log files are written permanently to the base virtual disk files. Any subsequent changes accumulate in new redo logs.