You can remove a user or group from the ESX host.

Caution

Do not remove the root user.

If you remove a user from the host, they lose permissions to all objects on the host and cannot log in again.

Note

Users who are logged in and are removed from the domain keep their host permissions until you restart the host.

Removing a group does not affect the permissions granted individually to the users in that group or permissions granted as part of inclusion in another group.

1

Log in to the host using the vSphere Client.

2

Click the Users & Groups tab and click Users or Groups.

3

Right-click the user or group to remove and select Remove.