When you rename a role, no changes occur to that role’s assignments.

If you create or modify a role on a vCenter Server system that is part of a connected group in Linked Mode, the changes you make are propagated to other vCenter Server systems in the group. Assignments of roles to specific users and objects are not shared across linked vCenter Server systems.

Verify that you are logged in as a user with Administrator privileges.

1

On the vSphere Client Home page, click Roles.

2

Click the object in the list of roles that you want rename.

3

Select Administration > Role > Rename.

4

Type the new name.