Deleting a snapshot involves committing the existing data on the snapshot disk to the parent disk.

You must power off and delete any existing snapshots before you attempt to change the disk mode.

1

Select Inventory > Virtual Machine > Edit Settings.

2

Click the Hardware tab, and select the hard disk you want to exclude.

3

Under Mode, select Independent. Independent disks are not affected by snapshots.

You have the following persistence options for an independent disk:

Option

Description

Persistent

Disks in persistent mode behave like conventional disks on your physical computer. All data written to a disk in persistent mode are written permanently to the disk.

Nonpersistent

Changes to disks in nonpersistent mode are discarded when you power off or reset the virtual machine. Nonpersistent mode enables you to restart the virtual machine with a virtual disk in the same state every time. Changes to the disk are actually written to and read from a redo log file that is deleted when you power off or reset.

4

Click OK.