The global settings determine how vRealize Operations Manager retains data, keeps connection sessions open, and other settings. These are system settings that affect all users.

Global Setting Default Values and Descriptions

Setting

Default Value

Description

Action History

30 days

Number of days to retain the recent task data for actions.

The data is purged from the system after the specified number of days.

Deleted Objects

168 hours

Number of hours to retain objects that are deleted from an adapter data source or server before deleting them from vRealize Operations Manager.

An object deleted from an adapter data source might be identified by vRealize Operations Manager as not existing and vRealize Operations Manager can no longer collect data about the object. Whether vRealize Operations Manager identifies deleted objects as not existing depends the adapter. This feature is not implemented in some adapters.

For example, if the retention time is 360 hour and a virtual machine is deleted from a vCenter Server instance, the virtual machine remains as an object in vRealize Operations Manager for 15 days before it is deleted.

This setting applies to objects deleted from the data source or server, not to any objects you delete from vRealize Operations Manager on the Inventory Explorer page.

A value of -1 deletes objects immediately.

Deletion Schedule Interval

24 hours

Determines the frequency to schedule deletion of resources. This setting works with the Deleted Objects setting to remove objects that no longer exist in the environment. vRealize Operations Manager transparently marks objects for removal that have not existed for the length of time specified under Deleted Objects. vRealize Operations Manager then removes the marked objects at the frequency specified under Deletion Scheduling Interval.

Object History

300 days

Number of days to retain the history of the object configuration, relationship, and property data.

The configuration data is the collected data from the monitored objects on which the metrics are based. The collected data includes changes to the configuration of the object.

The data is purged from the system after the specified number of days.

Session Timeout

30 minutes

If your connection to vRealize Operations Manager is idle for the specified amount of time, you are logged out of the application.

You must provide credentials to log back in.

Symptoms/Alerts

45 days

Number of days to retain cancelled alerts and symptoms.

The alerts and symptoms can be canceled by the system or canceled by a user.

Time Series Data Retention

4 months

Number of months that you want to retain the collected and calculated metric data for the monitored objects.

Additional Time Series Retention

38 months

The additional time series retention is always larger than the Time series data retention and the roll up data is available starting from the end of the regular period and till the end of the roll-up data retention period. If 0 value is specified then this will effectively disable Additional Time Series Retention and only data specified in Time Series Data Retention will be stored.

Dynamic Threshold Calculation

enabled

Determines whether to calculate normal levels of threshold violation for all objects.

If the setting is disabled, the following areas of vRealize Operations Manager will not work or are not displayed:

Anomalies badge is not calculated

Alert symptom definitions based on dynamic thresholds will not work

Metric charts that display normal behavior are not present

Disable this setting only if you have no alternative options for managing resource constraints for your vRealize Operations Manager system.

Capacity Calculation

enabled

Determines whether to calculate capacity metrics and badges for all objects.

If the setting is disabled, the values for the following badges are not calculated:

Capacity Remaining

Time Remaining

Stress

Reclaimable Capacity

Density

Allow vCenter users to log in to individual vCenters using the vRealize Operations Manager UI

Determine how users of vCenter Server log in to vRealize Operations Manager.

In the vRealize Operations Manager user interface, vCenter Server users can log in to individual vCenter Server instances. Disabled by default.

vCenter Server users can log in from vCenter Server clients. Enabled by default.

In the vRealize Operations Manager user interface, vCenter Server users can log in to all vCenter Server instances. Enabled by default.

Allow vCenter users to log in from vCenter clients

Allow vCenter users to log in to all vCenters using the vRealize Operations Manager UI

Automated Actions

enabled or disabled

Determines whether to allow vRealize Operations Manager to automate actions. When an alert triggers, the alert provides recommendations for remediation. You can automate an action to remediate an alert when the recommendation is the first priority for that alert. You enable actionable alerts in your policies.

Enable Certificate Validation Standard Way

This option enables certificate verification to Test Connection in the Create or Modify UI screen using a standard verification flow.

The option also checks the following:

CA authority

Certificate Subject DN

Subject alternative name

Certificate validity period

Revocation list

The adapter checks the source certificate validity during a normal collection cycle and uses adapters to perform thumb-print verification.

However, if the flag is enabled Test connection validates the certificate in full scale and accepts certificates that are matching all the criteria.

Customer Experience Improvement Program

enabled

Determines whether to participate in the Customer Experience Improvement Program by having vRealize Operations Manager send anonymous usage data to https://vmware.com.