You can recompose linked-clone desktops that can run in local mode. However, the desktops must be checked in or rolled back to the datacenter before the recompose operation can take place.

Familiarize yourself with the recomposition guidelines. See Updating Linked Clones with Desktop Recomposition.

Familiarize yourself with the procedure for updating the base image and recomposing linked-clone desktops. See Prepare a Parent Virtual Machine to Recompose Linked-Clone Desktops and Recompose Linked-Clone Desktops.

Familiarize yourself with the procedure for publishing base images to the Transfer Server repository. See Publish Package Files in the Transfer Server Repository.

1

Check in or roll back the local, linked-clone desktops that were created from the base image.

2

Initiate the recompose operation.

The recompose operation ignores desktops that are in local mode.

3

Publish the recomposed base image to the Transfer Server repository.

The linked-clone desktops are updated with the new base image.

The next time users check out their linked-clone desktops, View Transfer Server downloads the updated base image from the Transfer Server repository to the client computers. View Transfer Server also downloads the linked-clones' OS disks and View Composer persistent disks to the client computers.

Note

Desktops that were in local mode during the recompose operation continue to use the old base image. These desktops are not recomposed when users check them in.