You can set policies to configure replications and optimize transfer operations. You can also initiate replication requests between scheduled replications. If necessary, you can roll back a desktop to discard the locally checked out version.

Replications occur in sequence to preserve the integrity of local desktop data.

Each replication transfers data from a snapshot that is taken of the local desktop when the replication starts. Therefore, each replication represents a different state of the local desktop.

When you initiate a replication, or when a replication is scheduled to begin, the request starts the next time the client computer contacts the datacenter. View Client with Local Mode takes a snapshot and starts the replication.

View maintains only one pending replication at a time.

Note

At the beginning and end of each replication, the end user might notice that desktop performance is affected for a few seconds while a local snapshot is taken or updated.

Replication synchronizes local desktops with their corresponding remote desktops by sending user-generated changes to the datacenter. You can set policies to configure replication frequency, to allow users to defer replications, and to select the type of linked-clone disk to replicate.

You can initiate replications for desktops that run in local mode. Your request can start a replication before the next scheduled replication. If the client policy allows it, an end user who has checked out a local desktop can also initiate a replication from within View Client.

If an end user loses a laptop that contains a local desktop, or if the hard disk becomes damaged, you can roll the View desktop back so that the end user can check the desktop out on another computer. If the client policy allows it, an end user who has checked out a local desktop can also roll back the desktop from within View Client.

When you roll back a local desktop or uninstall View Client, the files that make up a local desktop on that client computer are not deleted or cleaned up. To remove a local desktop, you must manually delete its files.