During a local mode operation such as a check-out or check-in, the operation fails, and the following message is displayed: This desktop has been modified at the datacenter. Please contact your system administrator.

A local mode operation fails when a user initiates the operation, or when the operation is interrupted or paused and then resumes. This problem can occur with the following local mode operations: check-out, resume check-out, cancel check-out, check-in, resume check-in, cancel check-in, roll back, initiate replication, resume replication.

In addition to the user error message, View events are generated if the View Event database is configured, and messages are generated in the View Connection Server logs.

If this problem occurs during a replication, the status of the operation changes to Wait to resume backup. The error message, This desktop has been modified at the datacenter. Please contact your system administrator., is not displayed to the user.

When a View desktop is checked out, a snapshot is taken in vCenter Server to preserve the state of the virtual machine. The vCenter Server version of the desktop is locked so that no other users can access it.

This problem can occur if vSphere allows the datacenter copy of a virtual machine to be unlocked and then, perhaps inadvertently, another process or person powers on the virtual machine. For example, a virtual machine might be unlocked during a vCenter Server upgrade. The virtual machine in the datacenter and the local desktop are no longer synchronized.

When a local mode operation is initiated or resumed, View detects that the virtual machine versions are not synchronized and stops the operation.

You can recover the client version or vCenter Server version of the virtual machine, depending on the local mode operation that was underway.

If a check-in or replication failed, recover the client version. You can use a vdmadmin -V command that reverts the vCenter Server virtual machine to the snapshot that was taken during the last synchronization.

1

On the View Connection Server computer, open a command prompt and navigate to the C:\Program Files\VMware\VMware View\Server\tools\bin directory.

2

Run the vdmadmin -V -recoverClientVM command.

For example: vdmadmin -V -recoverClientVM -d lmdtpool -m machine1

3

Instruct the user to start the check-in operation again.

If a check-out failed, recover the vCenter Server version. You can use a vdmadmin -V command that takes a new snapshot of the vCenter Server virtual machine, deletes the old snapshot, and rolls back the virtual machine. During a rollback, the local View desktop is discarded.

1

On the View Connection Server computer, open a command prompt and navigate to the C:\Program Files\VMware\VMware View\Server\tools\bin directory.

2

Run the vdmadmin -V -recoverServerVM command.

For example: vdmadmin -V -recoverServerVM -d lmdtpool -m machine2

3

Instruct the user to start the check-out operation again.

In a special situation in which a desktop is fully checked out, and no check-in or replication was underway when the vCenter Server virtual machine was opened, you might want to preserve both the client and vCenter Server virtual machines. Perhaps valid, useful contents were created on both virtual machines. In vCenter Server, you can clone the vCenter Server virtual machine to preserve an identical copy. Next, you can use the vdmadmin command with the -V -recoverClientVM option to recover the client virtual machine.

For information about using the vdmadmin command with the -V option, see Recovering a Local Desktop by Using the ‑V Option When the Desktop Was Modified in the Datacenter.