After you create an automated pool, you can customize particular desktops without reassigning ownership. By starting the desktops in maintenance mode, you can modify and test the desktops before you release them to their assigned users or make them available to all entitled users in the pool.

Maintenance mode prevents users from accessing their desktops. If you start desktops in maintenance mode, View Manager places each desktop in maintenance mode when the desktop is created.

You can customize individual desktops after a pool is created by starting the desktops in maintenance mode.