When you delete a desktop pool from View Manager, users can no longer access the desktops in the pool.

Users in currently active sessions can continue to use full virtual-machine desktops if you keep the virtual machines in vCenter Server. After the users log off, they cannot access the deleted desktops.

With linked-clone desktops, vCenter Server always deletes the virtual machines from disk.

Important

Do not delete the virtual machines in vCenter Server before you delete a desktop pool with View Administrator. This action could put View components into an inconsistent state.

1

In View Administrator, click Inventory > Pools.

2

Select a desktop pool and click Delete.

3

Choose how to delete the pool.

Option

Description

Pool that contains full virtual-machine desktops

Choose whether to keep or delete the virtual machines in vCenter Server.

If you delete the virtual machines from disk, users in active sessions are disconnected from their desktops.

If you keep the virtual machines in vCenter Server, choose whether to let users in active sessions stay connected to their desktops or disconnect them.

Linked-clone pool with View Composer persistent disks

Choose whether to detach or delete the persistent disks when the desktops are deleted.

In both cases, vCenter Server deletes the linked-clone virtual machines from disk. Users in currently active sessions are disconnected from their linked-clone desktops.

If you detach a persistent disk, the linked-clone desktop that contained the persistent disk can be recreated, or the persistent disk can be attached to another desktop. You can store detached persistent disks in the same datastore or a different one. If you select a different datastore, you cannot store detached persistent disks on a local datastore. You must use a shared datastore.

You can only detach persistent disks that were created in View 4.5 or later releases.

Linked-clone pool without View Composer persistent disks

vCenter Server deletes the linked-clone virtual machines from disk. Users in currently active sessions are disconnected from their linked-clone desktops.

The desktop pool is removed from View Connection Server. If you keep the virtual machines in vCenter Server, View Manager cannot access them.

When you delete a desktop pool from View Manager, linked-clone computer accounts are removed from Active Directory. Full virtual machine accounts remain in Active Directory. To remove these accounts, you must manually delete them from Active Directory.

When you delete a pool that contains local desktops, the datacenter copies of the desktops are removed from View Manager. The local desktops no longer function when the clients contact View Connection Server or the maximum time without server contact is exceeded. If you choose to keep full virtual machines in vCenter Server or detach and save View Composer persistent disks, changes that users made on their local desktops since the last replication or check-out are not preserved in the virtual machines or persistent disks.