Desktop recomposition simultaneously updates all the linked-clone desktops anchored to a parent virtual machine.

If possible, schedule recompositions during off-peak hours.

Verify that you have a snapshot of the parent virtual machine. See Prepare a Parent Virtual Machine to Recompose Linked-Clone Desktops.

Familiarize yourself with the recomposition guidelines. See Updating Linked Clones with Desktop Recomposition.

Decide when to schedule the recomposition. By default, View Composer starts the recomposition immediately.

You can schedule only one recomposition at a time for a given set of linked clones. You can schedule multiple recompositions if they affect different linked clones.

Decide whether to force all users to log off as soon as the recomposition begins or wait for each user to log off before recomposing that user's desktop.

If you force users to log off, View Manager notifies users before they are disconnected and allows them to close their applications and log off.

If you force users to log off, the maximum number of concurrent recompose operations on desktops that require logoffs is half the value of the Max concurrent View Composer maintenance operations setting. For example, if this setting is configured as 24 and you force users to log off, the maximum number of concurrent recompose operations on desktops that require logoffs is 12.

Decide whether to stop provisioning at first error. If you select this option and an error occurs when View Composer provisions a linked clone, provisioning stops for all clones in the pool. You can select this option to ensure that resources such as storage are not consumed unnecessarily.

Selecting the Stop at first error option does not affect customization. If a customization error occurs on a linked clone, other clones continue to be provisioned and customized.

Verify that provisioning for the pool is enabled. When pool provisioning is disabled, View Manager stops the desktops from being customized after they are recomposed.

If your deployment includes replicated View Connection Server instances, verify that all instances are the same version.

1

In View Administrator, click Inventory > Pools.

2

Select the pool to recompose by double-clicking the pool ID in the left column.

3

Choose whether to recompose the whole pool or selected desktops.

Option

Action

To recompose all desktops in the pool

On the selected pool's page, click the Settings tab.

To recompose selected desktops

a

On the selected pool's page, click the Inventory tab.

b

Select the desktops to recompose.

4

Click View Composer > Recompose.

5

Follow the wizard instructions to recompose the linked-clone desktops.

If you recompose the whole pool from the Settings tab, you can check the Change the default image for new desktops box. With this setting, new desktops that are created in the pool use the updated base image. This setting is checked by default.

On the Ready to Complete page, you can click Show Details to display the linked-clone desktops that will be recomposed.

The linked-clone desktops are refreshed and updated. The OS disks are reduced to their original size.

In a dedicated-assignment pool, unassigned linked clones are deleted and recreated. The specified number of spare desktops is maintained.

In a floating-assignment pool, all selected linked clones are recomposed.

In vCenter Server, you can monitor the progress of the recomposition on the linked-clone virtual machines.

In View Administrator, you can monitor the operation by clicking Inventory > Pools, selecting the pool ID, and clicking the Tasks tab. You can click Cancel Task, Pause Task, or Resume Task to terminate a task, suspend a task, or resume a suspended task.

Note

If you used a Sysprep customization specification to customize the linked clones when you created the desktop pool, new SIDs might be generated for the recomposed virtual machines. For details, see Recomposing Linked Clones Customized with Sysprep.