You can configure local mode policies to affect all client sessions, or you can apply them to specific desktops or users.

Local Mode Policies describes each local mode policy setting.

Local Mode Policies

Policy

Description

Local Mode

Determines whether users can check out desktops for local use. Also determines whether users can run local desktops while the desktops are checked out.

The default value is Allow.

If you change this value to Deny while a desktop is checked out, the user cannot run the desktop in local mode, and the desktop cannot be used remotely because it is still checked out.

User-initiated rollback

Determines whether users can discard a local desktop and revert to the remote version.

When a user initiates the rollback process, the lock on the remote desktop is released and the local desktop is discarded. If necessary, the user can manually remove and delete the local folder that contains the local desktop data.

The default value is Allow.

Max time without server contact

Specifies the amount of time in days that a local desktop can run without making contact with View Connection Server for policy updates. If the specified time limit is exceeded, View Client displays a warning message to the user and suspends the desktop.

The default value is 7 days.

On the client side, this expiration policy is stored in a file that is encrypted by a key that is built into the application. This built-in key prevents users who have access to the password from circumventing the expiration policy.

Target replication frequency

Specifies the interval in days, hours, or minutes between the start of one replication and the start of the next replication. A replication copies any changes in local desktop files to the corresponding remote desktop or View Composer persistent disk in the datacenter.

The default value is the No replication setting. If you select At a specified interval, the default replication interval is 12 hours.

You can prohibit scheduled replications by selecting No replication.

The No replication policy does not prohibit explicit replication requests. You can initiate replications in View Administrator, and users can request replications if the User initiated replication policy is set to Allow.

If a replication takes longer than the interval that is specified in the Target replication frequency policy, the next scheduled replication starts after the previous one is completed. The pending replication does not cancel the previous one.

For example, the Target replication frequency policy might be set to one day. A replication might start at noon on Tuesday. If the client computer is disconnected from the network, the replication might take longer than 24 hours. At noon on Wednesday, View Client with Local Mode starts the next replication request. After the previous replication is completed, View Client with Local Mode takes a snapshot and starts the pending replication.

User deferred replication

Determines whether users can pause active replications. If you enable this policy, a user can defer a replication that is underway. The replication does not resume, and no new replications start, until the deferment period is over.

The default value is Deny. When the value is set to Allow, the deferment period is two hours.

Disks replicated

Determines which desktop disks are replicated. This policy affects View Composer linked-clone desktops only. For full virtual-machine desktops, all disks are replicated.

You have these disk-replication choices:

Persistent disks

OS disks

OS and persistent disks

Changing this policy affects desktop replication after the next checkout occurs. A change does not affect desktops that are currently checked out.

The default value is Persistent disks.

User-initiated check in

Determines whether users are allowed to check in desktops that are running in local mode.

The default value is Allow.

User-initiated replication

Determines whether users are allowed to initiate replications from their desktops when they run in local mode.

The default value is Allow.