Global settings determine session time-out length and whether SSL is used, clients are reauthenticated after interruptions, View components use secure internal communications, prelogin and warning messages are displayed, and SSO is used for local-desktop operations.

Global Settings for Client Sessions and Connections

Setting

Description

Session timeout

Determines how long a user can keep a session open after logging in to View Connection Server.

The value is set in minutes. You must type a value. The default is 600 minutes.

When a desktop session times out, the session is terminated and the View client is disconnected from the desktop.

Require SSL for client connections and View Administrator

Determines if a secure SSL communication channel is used between View Connection Server and View desktop clients, and between View Connection Server and clients that access View Administrator.

When you select this setting, clients must use SSL connections.

You must select this setting if you use smart card authentication.

After you change this setting, you must restart the View Connection Server service to make your change take effect. In a group of replicated View Connection Server instances, you must restart each instance to make the change take effect.

Reauthenticate secure tunnel connections after network interruption

Determines if user credentials must be reauthenticated after a network interruption when View clients use secure tunnel connections to View desktops.

When you select this setting, if a secure tunnel connection ends during a desktop session, View Client requires the user to reauthenticate before reconnecting.

When this setting is not selected, the client reconnects to the desktop without requiring the user to reauthenticate.

This setting has no effect when you use direct connection.

Message security mode

Determines the security of communications between View Manager components. Specifically, determines if signing and verification of the JMS messages passed between View Manager components takes place. For details, see Message Security Mode for View Components.

Disable Single Sign-on for Local Mode operations

Determines if single sign-on is enabled when users log in to their local desktops.

If you disable this setting, users must manually log in to their desktops to start their Windows sessions after they log in.

When you change this setting, the change takes effect for each user at the next user operation.

Enable automatic status updates

Determines if View Manager updates the global status pane in the upper left corner of View Administrator every few minutes. The dashboard page of View Administrator is also updated every few minutes.

When you enable this setting, idle sessions do not time out for any user who is logged into View Administrator.

Important

Disabling idle-session timeouts increases the risk of unauthorized use of View Administrator. Use caution when you enable this setting.

By default, this setting is not enabled. Idle-session timeouts do occur.

Display a pre-login message

Displays a disclaimer or another message to View Client users when they log in.

Type your information or instructions in the text box in the Global Settings dialog window.

To display no message, leave the text box blank.

Display warning before forced logoff

Displays a warning message when users are forced to log off because a scheduled or immediate update such as a desktop-refresh operation is about to start. This setting also determines how long to wait after the warning is shown before the user is logged off.

Check the box to display a warning message.

Type the number of minutes to wait after the warning is displayed and before logging off the user. The default is five minutes.

Type your warning message. You can use the default message:

Your desktop is scheduled for an important update and will be restarted in 5 minutes. Please save any unsaved work now.