You can set the level of security for communications between View components. This setting determines whether to sign and verify JMS messages that are passed between View Manager components. Enabling this setting prevents control messages that did not come from an authorized source from being processed.

In addition to signing and verifying messages, a best practice is to use IPSec to encrypt messages between View Connection Sever instances, and between View Connection Server instances and security servers.

If any component in your View environment predates View Manager 3.0, signing and verification cannot take place.

Message Security Mode Options shows the options you can select to configure the message security level. To set an option, select it from the Message security mode list in the Global Settings dialog window.

Message Security Mode Options

Option

Description

Disabled

Message security mode is disabled.

Mixed

Message security mode is enabled but not enforced.

You can use this mode to detect components in your View environment that predate View Manager 3.0. The log files generated by View Connection Server contain references to these components.

Enabled

Message security mode is enabled. Unsigned messages are rejected by View components.

Note

View components that predate View Manager 3.0 are not allowed to communicate with other View components

Message security mode is supported in View Manager 3.0 and later. If you change the message security mode from Disabled or Mixed to Enabled, you cannot launch a desktop with a View Agent from Virtual Desktop Manager version 2.1 or earlier. If you then change the message security mode from Enabled to Mixed or Disabled, the desktop still fails to launch. To launch a desktop after you change the message security mode from Enabled to Mixed or Disabled, you must restart the desktop.

If you plan to change an active View environment from Disabled to Enabled, or from Enabled to Disabled, change to Mixed mode for a short time before you make the final change. For example, if your current mode is Disabled, change to Mixed mode for one day, then change to Enabled. In Mixed mode, signatures are attached to messages but not verified, which allows the change of message mode to propagate through the environment.