The Site Recovery Manager upgrade procedure preserves information from existing installations.

Site Recovery Manager preserves settings and configurations that you created for the previous release.

Datastore groups

Protection groups

Inventory mappings

Recovery plans

IP customizations for individual virtual machines

Custom roles and their memberships

Site Recovery Manager object permissions in vSphere

Custom alarms and alarm actions

Test plan histories

Security certificates

Mass IP customization files (CSVs)

Important

During an upgrade, Site Recovery Manager does not retain any advanced settings that you configured in the previous installation. This is by design. Due to changes in default values or improvements in performance, advanced settings that you set in a previous version of Site Recovery Manager might not be required by or compatible with the new version.

Important

During an upgrade, Site Recovery Manager preserves only protection groups and recovery plans that are in a valid state. Site Recovery Manager discards protection groups or recovery plans that are in an invalid state.