You can upgrade existing SRM installations. The SRM upgrade process preserves existing information about SRM configurations.

Due to update release schedules, upgrading to certain 5.1.x releases is not supported for all 5.0.x releases. Check Solution Upgrade Path > VMware vCenter Site Recovery Manager in the VMware Product Interoperability Matrixes at http://partnerweb.vmware.com/comp_guide2/sim/interop_matrix.php? before you upgrade, to ensure that your upgrade path is supported.

Important

Upgrade versions of SRM earlier than 5.0 to an SRM 5.0.x release before you upgrade to 5.1.x. Upgrading vCenter Server directly from 4.1.x to 5.1 is a supported upgrade path. However, upgrading SRM directly from 4.1.x to 5.1 is not a supported upgrade path. When upgrading a vCenter Server 4.1.x instance that includes an SRM installation, you must upgrade vCenter Server to version 5.0.x before you upgrade SRM to 5.0.x. If you upgrade vCenter Server from 4.1.x to 5.1 directly, when you attempt to upgrade SRM from 4.1.x to 5.0.x, the SRM upgrade fails. SRM 5.0.x cannot connect to a vCenter Server 5.1 instance.

For the supported upgrade paths for other SRM releases, see the release notes for those releases. Alternatively, see the Solution Upgrade Path section of the VMware Product Interoperability Matrixes at http://partnerweb.vmware.com/comp_guide2/sim/interop_matrix.php?.

To revert to SRM 5.0 or 5.0.1 after upgrading to SRM 5.1, see Revert to a Previous Release of SRM.

The SRM upgrade procedure preserves information from existing installations.

Upgrading SRM requires that you upgrade vCenter Server. SRM supports different upgrade configurations.

You must upgrade the components in your vSphere and SRM environment in the correct order.

If you installed vSphere Replication 1.0 as part of a previous SRM 5.0 installation, you must upgrade vSphere Replication to version 5.1.

You perform several tasks to upgrade SRM to version 5.1.

To revert to a previous release of SRM, you must uninstall SRM from the protected and recovery sites and uninstall any instances of the SRM client plug-in. You can then reinstall the previous release.