You might need to reset a desktop if the desktop operating system stops responding. Resetting shuts down and restarts the desktop. Unsaved data is lost.

Resetting a remote desktop is the equivalent of pressing the Reset button on a physical PC to force the PC to restart. Any files that are open on the remote desktop will be closed without being saved first.

You can reset the desktop only if your View administrator has enabled this feature.

Use the Reset command.

Option

Action

From within the desktop OS

Select Disconnect from the drop-down menu located at the right end of the client menu bar, and then click the Reset button under the desktop icon.

From the desktop selector screen

Click the Reset button under the desktop icon.

The operating system in the remote desktop is rebooted. The client disconnects from the desktop.

Wait an appropriate amount of time for system startup before attempting to connect to the remote desktop.