You can manually delete snapshots that you no longer need or to make more disk space available.

The virtual disk files that a snapshot creates do not contain the entire contents of the virtual machine's virtual disk. When you delete a snapshot, you must consolidate the changes that it captured into the original, parent virtual disk.

Allocate enough time for virtual disk consolidation. If a snapshot captured a state considerably different from the earlier state, for example, a service pack upgrade, the consolidation might take up to a few hours.

1

Select Virtual Machine > Snapshots.

2

Select the snapshot to delete.

Option

Action

To select multiple adjacent snapshots.

Shift-click

To select multiple snapshots that are not adjacent.

Command-click

3

Click Delete.

4

Click Delete to confirm that you want to delete the snapshot.

The snapshot is deleted and virtual disk consolidation takes place.